April 21st

Today was my first real day in Sendai. This city is amazing! It has many tourist spots and a Loop Bus that travels to all of them. Tomorrow, I will buy a one day ticket and then use this bus to go to all the Tourist spots I haven’t seen yet.

I started my day with having a look at what to visit here and organizing a little. Then I had to check out and move all my clothes. In this hotel, I will have to do so every day. Not that great but at least I can leave my luggage here.

Then I walked to my first spot: Sendai Mediatheque. There was a souvenir shop and somehow a mini tourist information at the first floor. At 3rd and 4th floor was a library. It was huge! And all books were of course in Japanese. I just walked through and then wanted to get to 5th and 6th floor with a gallery. Sadly, this wasn’t possible, so I moved on to 7th floor. Here they had an exhibition in remembrance of the heavy earthquake from 2011, May 11th. They showed many before and after pictures to show how great the city recovered and how amazing everything looks again.DSC03415

From here I moved on to Nishi Park. There were some people sitting underneath of blooming sakura trees for Hanami and some food stores around. I enjoyed looking at the trees a lot – at least I waited for so long now to finally see them in full bloom!DSC03442

Way too soon I moved on to the Site of Sendai Castle. On this way, I stopped at Sendai City Museum and got a ticket there. Two very nice English speaking guides showed and explained everything to me. Even though their English wasn’t that good, I got so many information about this area and it’s history, especially the DATE-family. I spend around two hours inside the museum and watched a film about a journey to Spain and Mexico in the 17th century that was made from Japan. Everything was really interesting!

Then I continued my way to the former Castle. Sadly, there was no actual castle there. Only some statues and a Temple as well as another Museum and a souvenir Shop. Nevertheless, the view I had was stunning and everything else I could see there was amazing as well.

After I took my time to enjoy and capture everything here, I continued my route and walked back to Nishi Park. Here I bought some food and had my own short Hanami before walking on to Zuihoden Mausoleum. Here was a whole route leading to the Mausoleum and several other amazingly beautiful buildings and graveyards. I took my time here and read all the information sheets and just stood there having a long close look at everything.

On my way back to my hotel I stopped at a shop I had discovered earlier. They sold sweet potatoes with different stuffing. I bought one with chocolate and the nice lady in the store gave me a cookie as present on top.
I returned to my hotel and checked in again, moved everything and then started organizing a little.

The whole day I really missed my family, the host family and my time in Nasushiobara. I don’t know why it is so hard for me but I keep thinking about them all the time. In Tokyo I was happy 24/7 as well as in Nasushiobara (okay almost since I missed my family and friends really much on my birthday) but now I am just… Semi happy and I can’t fully enjoy everything…

Leave a Reply

